top of page
  • Writer's pictureHerman Byrd

Terrifying Tampon Warning

Two weeks after using a tampon, 32-year-old, Kristina Makris became extremely, and potentially fatally ill. Now she wants to warn others.


5 months ago this was me in ICU because of a Tampon. I almost lost my life. It brings me to tears looking at this picture but I’m writing this to help people understand the risks of Tampons. If you are a guy reading this please continue because you may have a sister or daughter that could use some guidance. When I was younger I would read the back of the tampon box about risks of TSS and thought 🤔 I’m invincible that would never happen to me. Well I was terribly wrong. At 32 years young I almost died. There is not enough awareness about the risks of wearing a tampon. No, I never left it in more then 6-8 hours. Super absorbency Tampons put you at a higher risk. What happens is the fibers start to develop bacteria then turns into a staff infection and the infection travels to your blood and then to your organs and thats when your body starts shutting down. (I went septic) After my last period I started feeling under the weather. I just didn’t feel well. I could tell my body was trying to fight something. Then I developed a swollen lymph node on my left groin. (I thought it was a pulled groin) I felt I was getting a cold and everyday got worse and worse. This went on for 2 weeks. Monday, January 15th is the day I woke up and it all hit me. Flu like symptoms. Fever, chills, vomiting and a rash developed on my Left inner thigh. I had just moved back home to my parents a week prior and If it wasn’t for my mom, I would not be here writing this post. The doctors told me if I didn’t come when I did I either would have lost limbs or worse... died. I had surgery on my inner thigh where the infection localized. I was in the hospital for 2 weeks being pumped 24/7 with 2 kinds of antibiotics. I was pumped with bags and bags of fluid to raise my blood pressure that I had gained 30 pounds of fluid. After a week of being bedridden I finally looked in the mirror and didn’t recognize myself. When I was finally sent home the fight wasn’t over. I had an iv attached to my arm 24/7 pumping me with antibiotics along with a wound vac attached to my inner thigh 24/7. It took 3 months to physically get back to my normal life. Mentally I’m still struggling with the trauma. I’m not super vocal when it comes to the mental part but I really just want women to understand that this all happened from a fucking TAMPON. And if I could save someone from having to go through what I went through I will vocalize any time for anyone who wants to hear. PLEASE TAG your friends, daughters, nieces anyone who could use some awareness on this. Much love 💗 Thank you for reading 🙏🏼 please share this post and raise awareness.
5 months ago this was me in ICU because of a Tampon. I almost lost my life. It brings me to tears looking at this picture but I’m writing this to help people understand the risks of Tampons. If you are a guy reading this please continue because you may have a sister or daughter that could use some guidance. When I was younger I would read the back of the tampon box about risks of TSS and thought 🤔 I’m invincible that would never happen to me. Well I was terribly wrong. At 32 years young I almost died. There is not enough awareness about the risks of wearing a tampon. No, I never left it in more then 6-8 hours. Super absorbency Tampons put you at a higher risk. What happens is the fibers start to develop bacteria then turns into a staff infection and the infection travels to your blood and then to your organs and thats when your body starts shutting down. (I went septic) After my last period I started feeling under the weather. I just didn’t feel well. I could tell my body was trying to fight something. Then I developed a swollen lymph node on my left groin. (I thought it was a pulled groin) I felt I was getting a cold and everyday got worse and worse. This went on for 2 weeks. Monday, January 15th is the day I woke up and it all hit me. Flu like symptoms. Fever, chills, vomiting and a rash developed on my Left inner thigh. I had just moved back home to my parents a week prior and If it wasn’t for my mom, I would not be here writing this post. The doctors told me if I didn’t come when I did I either would have lost limbs or worse... died. I had surgery on my inner thigh where the infection localized. I was in the hospital for 2 weeks being pumped 24/7 with 2 kinds of antibiotics. I was pumped with bags and bags of fluid to raise my blood pressure that I had gained 30 pounds of fluid. After a week of being bedridden I finally looked in the mirror and didn’t recognize myself. When I was finally sent home the fight wasn’t over. I had an iv attached to my arm 24/7 pumping me with antibiotics along with a wound vac attached to my inner thigh 24/7. It took 3 months to physically get back to my normal life. Mentally I’m still struggling with the trauma. I’m not super vocal when it comes to the mental part but I really just want women to understand that this all happened from a freaking TAMPON. And if I could save someone from having to go through what I went through I will vocalize any time for anyone who wants to hear. PLEASE TAG your friends, daughters, nieces anyone who could use some awareness on this. Much love 💗 Thank you for reading 🙏🏼 please share this post and raise awareness.



7 views0 comments
bottom of page